Why I always keep a hood on my lenses

why I always keep a hood on my lenses

It wasn’t a good day for my 135 f/2L lens. This morning, after I got home from an early morning jaunt out shooting, as I was unpacking the camera stuff from the car, the lens fell out of my backpack that I had forgotten to zip up (what can I say, I was still sleepy after leaving home at 6:30 to try and find some early morning fog to shoot).

I didn’t even realize it had fallen out till I heard it bounce off the concrete driveway, and start rolling towards the street. “Oh f*ck me” was all I could think. After some careful checking though it seemed to be fine. No sign of any scratches on the glass, a couple of small dings on the body, and a small chunk of cement lodged in the ridges at the back side of the lens. The hood took the brunt of the damage, with some good size dings on the edge where it first hit. It seems to be working fine.

So later in the day we headed out to the third annual charity auction for the Exotic Feline Rescue Center. I took my camera, and had the 135 f/2L on it because I wanted to use it and see if my initial impression that it was OK was correct. Standing in line filling my plate with free food, I leaned over to get something, and the camera swung unexpectedly and the hood took a dip in the dip. Second time today the lens hood protected the glass.

So in a nutshell that’s why I always keep the hood on my lenses, even when I’m not using them. I’m a klutz.

~ by Dave on 01/24/10.

2 Responses to “Why I always keep a hood on my lenses”

  1. Thanks for the reminder.
    It’s been so long since I’ve gone out to shoot, I’m almost afraid to pick the camera up any more.

  2. I think winter’s over. We need to go out shooting. I think the last time we were out shooting together was up in Peru.

Leave a Reply

 
