everybody loves a parade…

Thanks to the efforts of a good friend (thanks Ange), I spent the day up in Peru, Indiana yesterday, taking in small town Americana that many of us seem to have forgotten (or never appreciated in the first place).

Having grown up in a good sized city in Canada, with detours through small American college towns, I can’t say I’ve ever really experienced the quintessential small rural town that Norman Rockwell immortalized. Until yesterday. Peru, Indiana bills itself as “Circus City”, and I’ll leave it to others to describe it’s history, and how it came to lay claim to the title of “Circus Capital of the World” (at least that’s what the Peru Circus’ business card says.

Loud

But I can definitely say that I had a great time, spent the day shooting with friends (some I’d just met) from early morning to early evening, and despite unseasonably cool weather, the weather gods cooperated and didn’t unleash the threatened downpour. The morning started with the parade, which despite Peru’s small size is one of the largest in Indiana.

I got a lot of photos of the typical parade images, but the ones I’m drawn to from the parade are more of the atypical ones. The ones that don’t show the typical parade scenes, or at least show the typical scenes in a slightly unexpected way while still being recognizably from a parade.

the one that got away

Throughout the day I also found myself spending a lot of time playing with motion blur. Hadn’t set out to do that, but it seemed like a good idea, and considering I didn’t have a tripod or monopod with me. I’m happy with the results.

it was all just a blur

In all, it was a great way to spend a summer day. Props to everyone in Peru (especially the kids) and the surrounding area who put on the show (it was their 50th anniversary this year). You’ve got a new fan. Life doesn’t get much better than that.

every parade needs elephants

~ by Dave on 07/19/09.

Leave a Reply

 
