technology should be convenient

One reason I dropped updating this blog for a while earlier this year was that I’m running this blog as a do-it-yourself endeavor, running WordPress on the backend, with a design that I modified and tweaked to give it the look that I like, with Laughing Squid hosting it. It’s the control freak in me.

What does that all mean? In the past it meant that every few weeks, as WordPress released a new version (often a critical security update), I would spend anywhere between 30 minutes to an hour backing up the site and installing the new version of WordPress. Ugh.

That quickly got old, and before too long it became an excuse for me to ignore the blog, because more often than not when I logged into the administrative control panel to write a post, there would be a notice telling me “Your version of WordPress is out of date. Please update now.” There it would sit, nagging and nagging and nagging me until I would bite the bullet and spend time going through the ritual of upgrading the site (all the while crossing my fingers that any plug-ins that I’m using would be compatible with the new version).

Friend, photographer and fellow blogger Paul took a different tack on this, running his blog on Blogger. Of course that carries with it a different set of issues.

Then I stumbled across a new plug-in that has probably singlehandedly seduced me back to maintaining this blog.

Click Here to Automatically Upgrade WordPress to latest Version.

Holy crap. This makes it easy. Now when I’m greeted by the friendly reminder that my copy of WordPress is out of date and needs to be updated, it takes me less than 10 minutes to update things. This is a perfect example of how things should work.

Gas Works Park

I took this photo last summer at Gas Works Park in Seattle.

~ by Dave on 11/23/08.

3 Responses to “technology should be convenient”

  1. […] I wrote a couple of months ago, as WordPress has developed it’s made it much easier to manage the […]

  2. not sure why, but i love this shot. would like to go to this place next time i’m in seattle.

  3. It is a pretty cool park. I like what Seattle has done with what could have been a real urban blight. It’s got a beautiful view of the downtown, and if I had time I could have spend hours crawling around the old gas plant taking photos.

Leave a Reply

 
