something wicked this way comes…

something wicked this way comes

This is another example of how I think occasionally breaking the rules creates a more powerful image. In this case (like the one I wrote about earlier) I was shooting into the sun. This time though I was using an infrared filter, and getting a lot of lens flare which is usually the fastest way to get the photo dumped off my hard disk. And that was my initial impulse when I first looked at it in Lightroom.

I’ve gotten into the habit of often shooting 3 images in a row, with automatically bracketed exposures. I don’t do this all the time, but in cases like this when the lighting conditions are difficult, it gives me a safety net to try and ensure that I get the shot that I want. The other two exposures looked unsalvageable, but once I took this into Photoshop and started my typical infrared post-processing, it started to take on a life of its own.

~ by Dave on 11/17/08.

Leave a Reply

 
