Shoot the moon

moon over the future

Digital IR continues to surprise me. I’ve been using my new 28mm f/1.8 prime lens quite a bit for shooting IR with my Canon, and have been really happy with the results. As I hoped for, the higher quality lens exhibits a lot less lens flare than the kit lens that came with the camera. One additional reason that I bought this lens is that with a wide open f/2 or f/1.8, I can get good IR images with relatively short (2-4 sec) exposures on my unmodified 300D.

What surprises me, but maybe shouldn’t, is that under a lot of lighting conditions this lens shows a lot of vignetting with the IR filter. Sometimes that’s not an effect that I want, but in this case I think the vignetting adds considerably to the overall effect of the photo.

One of the comments on Flickr is that this photo has what appears to be a tilt-shift effect. I had to look it up, but it definitely does. Maybe it’s the vignetting, or the vast expanse of dark sky, or a combination of factors, but Lucas Oil Stadium looks like a toy construction in this particular photo.

As an aside, I’m also very happy with the false-color effects that I’m getting with my all-LAB post-processing workflow is giving with this lens. There’s very little noise showing up when I shoot at 100 ISO, and unless I stop down to f/11 or so, there’s rarely any noticeble hot spot. I’m able to get much richer, velvety blacks and vivid whites than I was able to get previously with the kit lens.

What a difference a good lens makes.

~ by Dave on 11/04/07.

Leave a Reply

 
