updated photo galleries

It’s been about 9 months since I started this blog, and I’m still at it. Holy shit. I’m still posting on a somewhat regular basis, and it’s slowly evolving into a blog mainly about my developing passion for photography, including shooting infrared, with occasional excursions off that beaten path.

In parallel with the development of this blog, and the development of my photographic hobby, I’ve been posting photos that I take to Flickr. I enjoy the online social interactions with Flickr, although I don’t immerse myself in it as much as a lot of people do. Most of the photos I post here link back to my Flickr account. But it’s not necessarily where I want to showcase what I think are the best images that I have. For that, I’d like to have a photo gallery on this site, integrated with the rest of my blog, with a minimum of muss and fuss involved in uploading photos.

life and death struggle


I’ve also been keeping an eye on my site stats, using Google Analytics, to try and get an idea of what the readers of my site look at when they visit. By far, the most visited page on my site has been the tutorial I posted on using LAB color for setting a custom white balance for false color infrared images. Good to know, and I’ll probably keep that in mind as I put more stuff up here.

Based on the direction this blog is going, I’ve played around with several options for hosting a photo gallery on this site, with selected photos that I want to highlight separate from Flickr. There were several criteria that I felt were necessary to get what I wanted. In no particular order, I wanted: the ability to display the exif data from my photos; automatic generation of thumbnails; a good selection of css-driven themes that will give me a look that I want with a minimum of css hacking on my own; active support; and flexibility with respect to adding, deleting and moving photos.

I looked at several options, including the possibility of putting a gallery of selected photos on pbase. Two reasons I’m not going with pbase… I already have paid accounts on Flickr and Laughing Squid (who hosts this site), I don’t need yet another paid account somewhere. Also, I just don’t like the look of the themes that I found on pbase. I think most of them distract from the photos.

I played with using the Gallery feature in Lightroom to export and generate gallery pages. Although some of the themes included with Lightroom look great, it’s too much work. Lightroom generates static web pages that get uploaded to your site. So if I find one photo I want to delete from an online album, or one caption that I want to edit, I have to re-export the entire album. ugh

SimpleViewer is beautiful, except as far as I know even the Pro version doesn’t display exif data. And if I can, I really don’t want to have to pay for another piece of software. There’s oodles of good open source software out there, and money that I spend on software isn’t available for me to spend on photography (OK OK, I’m cheap, but I have a teenage daughter and a wife who is a full time college student… I’m entitled).

Then I found gallery. Wow. More features than I could shake a stick at, but customizable enough that I can keep things simple. It looks good, displays exif data, and is easy to add, delete, reorganize and tweak to my heart’s content.

So to make a long story short, my new photo gallery on thegistofit.org is up. You can find it here, and in the sidebar. Enjoy.

~ by Dave on 09/08/07.

Leave a Reply

 
