opening day

"I don't see it"

We went to the opening day of the new aquatic exhibit at the Indianapolis zoo yesterday for zoo members. Of course we thought “Well, it’s only open today for members of the zoo, so it shouldn’t be too crowded”. Big mistake. The place was packed. Which is a good thing. I’m glad to see that there are so many people investing in the zoo by being members.

It gave me a chance to play around with shooting hand-held in low light conditions without a flash. I hate walking around an exhibit like that with camera flashes going off indiscriminately all over the place.

I’m reasonably happy with the results, using the kit lens (Canon EF-S 18-55mm) that came with the camera, but I definitely need a faster lens for shooting in low light conditions. I’ll probably spring soon to get the Canon EF50mm f/1.8. From what I’ve read it’s hard to go wrong with that lens for $80 or so.

~ by Dave on 05/26/07.

Leave a Reply

 
