geez louise

brrrrrrr

I think this is the coldest weather I’ve encountered since moving to Indianapolis about 7 years ago. On one level I enjoy it, if there’s no wind. There’s something invigorating about stepping outside and having the cold air slice through your sinuses like a scalpel, reminding you what it’s like to be alive. When I was an undergraduate in college, I used to walk about a mile to campus each day, even when it was well below 0 °F. It was usually quicker than getting the car started, scraped, warmed up, find a parking spot on the wrong side of campus, only to walk a mile from the parking lot to the Science building where my classes were.

But now I’m older and just want to curl up with a good book, a hot chocolate and a warm fire.

~ by Dave on 02/05/07.

Leave a Reply

 
