before my morning coffee

It’s Monday, Marting Luther King day. My wife doesn’t have classes today, and neither does my daughter. They get to sleep in. I get to go to work.

I spent the better part of yesterday trying to figure out how to automatically export my recently played music from iTunes to an .xml file, then upload and parse the xml file into a nicely formatted list. Going into it I had thought that the hard part would be the automatic uploading and formatting of the xml file, and automatically exporting the recently played smart playlist from iTunes would be easy. In fact it’s been just the other way around.

All I’ve been able to find are Applescripts that will export selected songs, but they all depend on user intervention to select the tracks on screen. I want something where I can simply say “select this playlist and export each song on the list to an xml file in this location”, and do it without prompting me to select the tracks on the screen. It shouldn’t be that hard, should it?

During the course of my attempts at finding a solution, I found last.fm and set up an account. The music links that are currently in the sidebar come from “scrobbling” my recently played songs to that site, then using a WordPress plugin (from here) to inset it into the sidebar. It seems to work, but I don’t like keeping another app running continually on my laptop, and it seems a bit convoluted.

Still working on it.

~ by Dave on 01/15/07.

Leave a Reply

 
